Batman vs Superman & The Critic vs The Audience

I am sitting here listening to the pretty epic soundtrack of Batman vs Superman scored by Hans Zimmer and Junkie XL. Doing so has aided me in recalling what I really enjoyed from this film and neglect some of the things I didn’t.

Today, there seems to be a great divide between the opinions of film critics and the average viewer. At times an opinion on a film can be quite universal, Force Awakens is a perfect example, and at other times opinions on a film can be quite mixed, that is Batman vs Superman. But the most important thing about movies, which I think that critics and avid film watchers neglect, is that any movie can be amazing despite being bad. It all depends on what that movie means to you. If a movie resonates with you on emotional/personal level, who is to say that it’s awful? If someone does not get a movie the way you do, what’s the point in arguing with them? You see something that they don’t.  Always stand next to the movies you love (as long as you can justify them) despite the word of mouth circling. Two perfect examples for me are Kill Bill and Star Wars: The Phantom Menace (two films that I have defended countless times to people who will never understand them). Those with disdain against Kill Bill may have misunderstood or failed to acknowledge the great writing of Quentin Tarantino and his work as an auteur. Star Wars fans despise The Phantom Menace but I love(d) it. I’m the second generation of Star Wars fans, meaning I am a child of the prequels. I loved the OG trilogy but it failed to connect with me on a personal level when I watched it at such a young age. But with Phantom Menace, I had such a strong connection with young Ani-Skywalker because I was young like him. Anything he did simply left me in stupor. Phantom Menace meant something to me. I can acknowledge it is not a good film, especially if you were born in the OG era, but that doesn’t mean it can’t be one of my favorites.

Remember, not every movie has to be an art piece. If a 5-year-old made you self-portrait, would you tell them it sucked? Of course not. That incoherent masterpiece meant something to them and to you too (if you have a heart). So, if you hated BvS that’s fine and if you loved that’s fine too. I am quite in the middle and I expressed what I find bad about the film, but here’s what I loved:

WHO: Wonder Woman

WHY?

  • Seeing her lasso of truth in action
  • Seeing the iconic bracelet slap
  • Herself in general
  • And this money  right here

tumblr_nyroasfoXb1qhdwy7o2_540

WHO: Baftleck

WHY?

  • Probably the best bat-suit in the entire Batman filmography
  • He is probably the best Batman (after Keaton, #Bale4Wayne)
  • The sequence where he saves Marth Wayne (best cinematic Batman experience)
  • Alfred
  • The loss of the WB voice
  • Homage to the Frank Miller’s comics as such (P.S. I love when homage is payed to comics) MoviePilot’s-Batman-Theory-8-700x605

WHO? Superman

WHY?

  • His fight against Doomsday
  • His handling of good ‘ol Batsy’s toys
  • The possibility that he may become Bizarro

WHAT? The Fight against Doomsday

  • Mhm, mhm, mhm. That was different and quite exciting (except for Superman’s ability to drop everything for the damsel in distress)

WHAT? The Score

WHY?

  • The Score, in particular Superman’s theme, was quite lyrical and was upbeat, fast paced and sinister all at the same time (I love Wonder Woman’s theme)

Always keep an open-mind in theatres.

One thought on “Batman vs Superman & The Critic vs The Audience

Leave a Reply

