My #2K17 Summer Television Watchlist

I’m a little bummed out that Mr.Robot, my favorite running series, will not premiere its third season over the summer. Although I won’t be able to catch up on Elliot’s mind boggling realities until October, there are plenty of quality shows that are heading our way this summer that I cannot wait to watch and am more eager to share with you. Including both returning and new series that have caught my interest, here is my Summer 2017 watchlist.

Orange is the New Black Season 5 [All Episodes Available to Stream: June 9th]

OITNB Season 5 is said to take place over the course of a couple days and will explore the aftermath of the impromptu prison riot seen in the very last moments of Season 4 . The all female ensemble cast is praised for various reasons; stellar acting across the board, a unique set of characters and an extremely diverse cast to name of few. In addition to all of these things, I praise the show for its ability to replicate race tensions and address the realities of sexism and discrimination in American society all through the walls of a female correctional facility.  Given how socially conscious OITNB is , and how the climate of the world has changed since the conclusion of Season 4, I am incredibly anxious to see how the show’s story will progress this season.

Orphan Black Season 5 [Premieres: June 10th]

I am a little sad that the #CloneClub is coming to end this year with Orphan Black’s 5th and final season releasing this summer. Nonetheless, I still have great respect for television that doesn’t milk itself and knows when it needs to end. Orphan Black is a show of many characters, clones more specifically, who are all portrayed by the wonderful Tatiana Maslany.  For one last season, Maslany will helm the characters that she has practically embodied for 4 years and bring their stories to a close. Predicting how Orphan Black will wrap up all storylines and successfully close such an intricate plot is difficult, but it makes it much more worthwhile to watch.

Catch Orphan Black on BBC America or on Netflix where episodes will be releasing weekly on the streaming platform.

GLOW [All Episodes Available to Stream: June 23rd]

G.L.O.W or Gorgeous Ladies of Wrestling stars Community’s Alison Brie and is the first new series on my watchlist. I honestly don’t know much about the show other than Brie’s character, Ruth,  is an actress who has a chance at fame after entering the world of women’s wrestling. The trailer for this show just  intrigued me so much and I replayed it replayed until I couldn’t get enough of it. It’s seems very unique, comedic, and looks like a lot of fun. I can’t wait to responsibly watch this show, not binge, come the end of June.

Castlevania [All Episodes Available to Stream: July 7th]

I know nothing of the Castlevania universe. I didn’t even know that is based off an old video game. All I know, from what I’ve seen in this trailer, is this anime looks freaking epic and I will not watch it responsibly on July 7th and will succumb to the binge. The IMDb  synopsis follows:

Inspired by the classic video game series, Castlevania is a dark medieval fantasy following the last surviving member of the disgraced Belmont clan, trying to save Eastern Europe from extinction at the hand of Vlad Dracula Tepe himself.

Game of Thrones [Premieres; June 16th]

I already expressed how hyped this trailer made me when it released but I cannot fully elucidate how excited I am that all the storylines of GoT are finally meshing together! I’m in the complete minority when I say that I was not too fond of the revered 5th and 6th seasons of the show. Each of these seasons had outstanding stand alone episodes but the story was not executed in the best possible manner over their 10 episode runs. It often dragged and characters arcs never never really amounted to anything at times. Season 7 is only 7 episodes hopefully meaning that storylines will progress a lot faster. What really has me excited for this season is the runtime for it’s 6th and 7th episodes which are 71 minutes and 81 minutes respectively. Despite the shows tendency to drag storylines, I love GoT for it’s world building and how immersive it is. I simply cannot wait to sit down and get lost in this universe for over an hour each week this summer.

The Defenders [All Episodes Available to Stream: August 18th]

Basically a smaller version of The Avengers, The Defenders will see the worlds of Daredevil, Jessica Jones, Luke Cage and Iron Fist intertwine as they try to rid NYC from the ancient order of The Hand. Out of all the series on this list, I don’t think any project has me more excited than The Defenders. I’m psyched to see Sigourney Weaver play a villain, Sigourney Weaver in general, incredibly choreographed (hallway) action sequences, and most of all to see these four heroes finally team up and fight together!  I’ll try my best to watch this series responsibly but chances are I’ll be sucked into the binge as well.

Let me know what is on your summer watchlist and if you are just as psyched as I am for any of these shows in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

