Survey! Who are some of your favorite female characters in movies?

At the moment I am currently working on two really interesting posts that explore what is meant from “strong female character”, a phrase often misunderstood by Hollywood studios and film goers alike. To help me out with my entires, more like well-put together rants, I’d love to know who are some of your favorite female characters in film or possibly television. Feel free to answer in the comments below or on a google form I created here!

Some of mine are:

General Leia Organa (Star Wars)

Hermione Granger, Luna Lovegood & Bellatrix Lestrange (Harry Potter)

Ellen Ripley (Alien)

ellen-ripley-alien-movies-alien-28784537-420-263-sigourney-weaver-reprises-her-role-as-lt-ellen-ripley-jpeg-94886

Beatrix Kiddo/The Bride (Kill Bill)

Veronica (Heathers)

San (Princess Mononoke)

Princess Mononoke

Clementine (Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind)

 

13 thoughts on “Survey! Who are some of your favorite female characters in movies?

  1. I love Princess Leia. Another group I find really inspiring are the ladies in the Help. Skeeter, Minnie, Abeline and Cecilia. The way they spoke out against their time even risking their own lives

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love Clementine! Maggie Smith, as Professor McGonagell. Whoopi Goldberg, in Jumpin’ Jack Flash and The Color Purple. Oprah Winfrey. Viola Davis. Karen Allen, in Raiders of the Lost Ark. Olivia de Havilland as Catherine Sloper, in The Heiress (Catherine Sloper: Yes, I can be very cruel. I have been taught by masters.). Baek Jang-Mi in Open City. Barbara Magnolfi in Suspiria.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow!!! Thanks so much for the response!!! Ughh I ve been trying to watch Suspiria for the longest time. I am in a place where the internet is not that great for streaming. Switched providers though and I’m either debating to watch that or Close Encounters…Again thanks for this awesome list!!!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Okay, I read this post this morning and I’ve been thinking about it all day. Here’s who I’m ready to commit to (and in no particular order). Looking to TV series first, I’d include Vanessa Ives from Showtime’s ‘Penny Dreadful,’ Lorelai and Rory from ‘The Gilmore girls,’ Elliot and Carla from ‘Scrubs,’ and Pam from ‘The Office.’ Moving to cinema and trying to hit as many genres as possible I’d say Trinity from ‘The Matrix’ movies, both Maleficent and Aurora in Disney’s modern ‘Maleficent’ with Angelina Jolie, Claire from ‘Elizabethtown,’ obviously Sarah Connors from ‘The Terminator’ films, Summer from ‘(500) Days of Summer,’ Olive from ‘Easy A,’ Tiffany from ‘Silver Linings Playbook,’ Celine from the ‘Before Sunrise/Sunset/Midnight’ Trilogy of films, Evey from ‘V for Vendetta,’ Juno from ‘Juno,’ Greta from ‘Begin Again,’ and I can’t overlook Diana from this summer’s ‘Wonder Woman.’ Whew…okay, I think I’m gonna stop now.

    I can’t wait to see how these posts eventually come together!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Michael! This response was so thoughtful and detailed! Thanks for adding a television list ast well. I am practically done with planning for the posts but I want to do just a little bit more research. Hopefully they come out by the end of July

      Liked by 1 person

  4. First of all, big YES to Ellen Ripley. The good thing about strong female characters, I think, is that there’s not one prototype. Here are a few I like:
    1.) Wendy Torrance (The Shining)
    2.) Rey (The Force Awakens)
    3.) Jyn Erso (Rogue One)
    4.) Belle (Beauty and the Beast – New and Old one)
    5.) Elle Woods – Legally Blonde
    6.) Samantha – Her
    7.) Rose Dawson – Titanic
    8.) Frauline Maria – The Sound of Music
    9.) Mary Poppins – Mary Poppins
    10.) Lori Strode – Halloween
    11.) Katniss Everdeen – The Hunger Games
    12.) Leslie Knope – Parks and Rec

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow! Thanks so much for this detailed response!!! Samantha from Her is probably the most unique selections from the list. I love that! I justed watched that film a couple days ago. These are definitely some really unique answers, really appreciate it !

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

