Comic Con 2017 Was Better Than Christmas: Here Are Some of My Favorite Trailers, News & Posters!

I wasn’t in San Diego, in fact I’m on the other side of the world in Uganda. Seriously check my location. Even though I am a million miles away I felt the nerd vibe. This weekend was filled with a whole of a lot of goosebumps, screams, and a constant “WHATT???!” from my mom every other minute whenever I yelled from excitement. Here are some of my favorite trailers and news coming out of SDCC 2017!

MOVIES

Justice League

Loved: The colour scheme, Ezra Miller’s Flash one liners ( “Oh wow they really just vanish. That’s rude.”), the V.O. from villain Steppenwolf as well as his reference to the Lantern Corp

Hyped? Quite

Thor: Ragnarok

Loved: the colour scheme, the vibrancy, how much of an action packed non stop joy ride film it looks to be, the banter between Thor and Hulk/Banner, Hulk talking at the level of a toddler

Favorite Quote: “So much has happened since I last saw you. I lost my hammer like yesterday so that’s still pretty fresh.” – Thor to Hulk. I just really love the delivery of this line.

Hyped? VERY

Ready Player One

Loved: that this film looks like a pop culture easter egg hunt – glimpses of Harley Quinn, Deathstroke, the Iron Giant, Orcs from Lord of the Rings, Freddy Kruger, Akira’s bike and the freaking Delorean from Back to the Future in this trailer alone

What do I need to do? Read Ready Player One because I hate not knowing as much as possible about a movie especially if it’s based off source material

Hyped? Much beyond 88mph

Television

If you aren’t caught up with a show and Comic Con rolls around it’s a sad reality that you won’t be able to watch any trailers, panels or read up on the latest updates. Unfortunately I haven’t caught up with shows like the Flash, Supergirl or Legends of Tomorrow so I’m sure I missed a pretty epic weekend of CW comic show news. Nonetheless, I am caught up on a few shows and a couple of trailers were series premiers. So here are some of my favorite television trailers coming out of SDCC!

Game of Thrones Season 7 – do not watch or read if you are not caught up to S07E02

Loved: Even though it’s a weeks ahead preview it’s still pretty epic, a glimpse of The Unsullied vs The Lannisters

Favorite Quote: “Every possible series of events is happening all at once.” – Petyr Baelish. Yes! The numerous storylines of GOT are finally intertwining.

Hype?  Let’s kill Cersei

Marvel’s The Defenders

Loved: that the worlds of Matt Murdock, Jessica Jones, Luke Cage and Jessica jones are intertwining, that the colour schemes are all four shows are blending, Sigourney Fucking Weaver as a villain, that this is essentially the small screen version of The Avengers

Hyped? Unbelievably 

The Gifted

Loved: the references to the X-Men, how original this looks, still deals with the human rights issues that mutants face, Blink!

Hyped? I wasn’t really before this trailer but now I am totally on board!

Stranger Things Season 2

Loved: the person who decided to use MJ’s Thriller, the return of our favorite preteens, the colour scheme (DAMN this is really a theme on this list), more exploration of the upside down, references to 80s pop culture, ELEVEN

Hyped? Every since the finale of season 1. Let’s get it.

Bright

Loved: that I had no idea that a movie of this production level was coming out of Netflix, Will Smith, Joel Edgerton, that it seems like a fantasy story yet grounded in reality, David Ayer

Hyped?  A little. Not too much in comparison to other trailers on this list.

Favorite News

  • Legion showrunner Noah Hawley is developing a Dr.Doom film
  • Michelle Pfieffer was announced as Janet Van Dyne, the mother of Hope Van Dyne (Evangeline Lily), for Ant-Man and The Wasp
  • Blade Runner 2049 is currently being edited but current runtime is at 2hr 30 min – I just love long films especially if I see them in theatres
  • Captain Marvel, starring Brie Larson, is set in the 90s and the villains will be the skrulls
  • I love the DC animated films and  4 new DC animated films announced
  • Green Lantern Corps and Batgirl  films announced
  • JOSS WHEDON is working on Batgirl

Favorite Posters

 

The Infinity War Poster looks great but I think the Justice League one just about destroys it. The former feels texturized and there is something just soo unique about the lighting that makes them look like figurines. They aren’t human/are larger than life, so making them look unrealistic is the right way to goo. Bravo Justice League poster. Bravo.

 

I am  more than excited to see It and c’mon, the Ragnarok trailer’s feel is perfectly encapsulated in this poster.

Those are some of my favorites from SDCC 2017! What did I miss? What did you love? Let me know in the comments below!

4 thoughts on “Comic Con 2017 Was Better Than Christmas: Here Are Some of My Favorite Trailers, News & Posters!

Leave a Reply

