Let’s Talk About: My Inexplicable Excitement for Blade Runner 2049

Thanks to a man who accidently stumbled on the other side of the world 500 plus years ago, I’ve got a 4-day weekend! And in this 4-day weekend I plan to do a couple things: 1) catch up on some blogging and blog myself 2) do some work (not really) and 3) watch freaking Blade Runner 2049! 

Although I haven’t discussed Blade Runner on my blog, it  does stand as one of the best films I have ever watched. I didn’t quite understand Ridley Scott’s dense sci-fi drama after a first viewing nor did it really resonate with me. Several more viewings, of course, resulted in a much deeper appreciation for the 80s masterpiece it was.

The excitement leading up to my viewing of Scott’s sequel is quite strange to me. I didn’t grow up on Blade Runner like I did with Star Wars and I don’t consider myself such a hard-core fan either. Yet the months, weeks, and now days leading up to director Denis Villeneuve’s sequel has just been filled with pure excitement for me.

Originally  I was quite saddened with the announcement that 2049 was going to be made thinking that it was an unneeded cash grab and an expansion of a film that needed no more expanding than what was offered. Then I learned of Harrison Ford’s return as well as the addition of Ryan Gosling and Villeneuve—arguably the best director of his era— and I thought “Shit…This may be…alright”. And then there came the first trailer (if you haven’t seen it already):

This is the only ounce of promotion I watched for 2049. Within 2 minutes Villeneuve proved to be that 1) he was going to capture the tone and world of the original film while 2) making a story that was completely his own.

The cinematography of Roger Deakins, who has been attached to Villeneuve’s Sicario and Arrival,  absolutely blew me away in just 2 minutes of footage. This film looks simply gorgeous and I cannot, CANNOT, wait to just get lost in its visuals.

On top of all of this, what truly hyped me up for this film was learning of its 2 hour and 43 minute runtime. With Deakins as cinematographer, Villeneuve helming the director’s seat, and a +2 hour 30 minute runtime I just know I’m paying to see filmmaking and storytelling at its absolute finest.

THEN…came the release of these three short films part of the Blade Runner canon and my excitement for this film reached astronomical heights. They follow..

NEXUS DAWN

which explores the new replicant manufacturer, Wallace (Jared Leto)

2048: Nowhere to Run

which follows Dave Bautista’s character in the LA streets of 2048. Without a doubt he’s a replicant on the run

Black Out 2022

which was that something that I didn’t ask for but was much needed in my life. This 10 minute film was directed by Cowboy Bebop and Samurai Champloo’s  Shinichiro Watanabe. It’s also hands down my favorite short of the three and could very much stand  as its on series. Try to find Bautista’s easter egg too

It’s like Warner Bro’s new exactly what I loved and appreciated in this world and attached it all to the promotional run for Blade Runner 2049. 

Without a doubt I’ll be in theatres watching this film in the next couple of days. For the time being all I can do is sit back and wait for what will probably be one of my favorite experiences in a theatre ever.

How excited are you to see the sequel to Ridley Scott’s sequel? What is your favorite cut of the film? And is Deckard a replicant? Yes or no? Let me know in the comments below!

6 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About: My Inexplicable Excitement for Blade Runner 2049

Leave a Reply

